Select Page

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

Summary: Staff Directory of the European Union Delegation to the United Nations Headquarters in New York


H. E. Ambassador Mr. João Vale de Almeida, Head of Delegation Address 666 Third Avenue, 31st Floor New York NY 10017 Tel. (212) 292 8600 – Fax (212) 292 8680 Email: Website:

Office of the Head of the EU Delegation


H. E. Mr. João Vale de Almeida

Ambassador, Head of the Delegation


Mr. Erik Vandeperre

Attaché, Security and Protocol


Ms. Fiona Bagnall

Attachée, Assistant

Office of the Deputy Head of the EU Delegation


Ms. Joanne Adamson

Ambassador, Deputy Head of Delegation

Coordination, Press and Information

Mr. Gerton van den Akker

Counsellor, Chief of Staff/Head of Section

Mr. Christopher Matthews

Press and Public Affairs Officer

Ms. Shila Patel

Public Affairs/Website Officer

Ms. Kathrin Resch

Senior Outreach and Coordination Officer (on leave until mid April 2018)

Ms. Jelena Vujic

Event Coordinator/Planner

Legal and Institutional Affairs, Counter-terrorism and Sanctions

Mr. Eric Chaboureau

First Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Eglantine Cujo

Counsellor, Legal Adviser


Ms. Eleonore “Noortje” van Rijssen

First Secretary – Legal Affairs

Mr. Ian Burrows


Political Affairs and Security Council

Mr. Guillaume Dabouis

First Counsellor, Head of Section, Elections, Security Council reform

Col Janos Balazsi

First Secretary, Military Issues, Peacekeeping, C34, EUMS PoC

Mr. Pierre Christophe Chatzisavas

Counsellor, Middle East and North Africa

Ms. Carmen Csernelházi

Counsellor, Western Africa (Liberia, Côte d’Ivoire, UNOWAS/The Gambia), Lake Chad Basin, fight against Boko Haram, Great Lakes region (Burundi, DRC, UNOCA), Sudan/South Sudan, Sudan sanctions, Peacebuilding Commission OC, Guinea PBC, Liberia PBC, Sierra Leone PBC, Burundi PBC, SEA (GA only))

Ms. Narcisa Vladulescu

Counsellor, Peacekeeping, C34, Horizontal/Thematic issues, Conflict Prevention/Mediation, Police, SSR-DDR, CIV CAP, PBC Security Aspects, DPKO PoC, EU-UN relations in crisis management, Nuclear non-proliferation (Iran, DPRK, 1540), Asia (excluding Afghanistan, Central Asia)

Mr. Viktor Dvořák

Minister Counsellor, Europe, Americas, 4th Committee (non-Middle East & Peacekeeping/SPM issues), Asia: Afghanistan, Central Asia, 1st Committee, conventional non-proliferation

Ms. Elisabete Palma

First Secretary, Sahel/Mali, CAR, CAR PBC, Somalia, African Union, financing peace operations, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Bissau PBC

Ms. Ellie Vance

Assistant, AGORA management and helpdesk

Ms. Camille Crombé

Assistant, AGORA management and helpdesk

Economic, Trade and Development

Mr. Antonio Parenti

Head of Section

Mr. Adebayo Babajide

Minister Counsellor, Development, Macroeconomic, Trade

Ms. Elisabeth Pape

Minister Counsellor for Development


Mr. Martin Mauthe-Käter

Counsellor, Migration and Sustainable Development

Ms. Agnieszka Klausa

First Secretary

Mr. Andrea Pontiroli

First Secretary

Mr. Mathieu Remond

Second Secretary, Development, Macroeconomic, Trade

Ms. Panagiota Toumazou

Junior Professional

Humanitarian Affairs

Mr. Eduardo Fernandez Zincke

Counsellor, Head of Section

Mr. Jesús Díaz Carazo

First Secretary


Ms. Paula Iwanowska

Attachée, Humanitarian Affairs

Mr. Ian Burrows


Fifth Committee

Mr. Jan de Preter

Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Fiona Grant

First Secretary


Mr. Thomas Hyndrak


Human Rights and Social Affairs

Mr. Charles Whiteley

First Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Dörthe Wacker

First Counsellor

Ms. Suvi Seppalainen

First Secretary

Mr. Garrett O’Brien

First Secretary

Ms. Marine Uldry



Mr. Frank Neumann

Attaché, Head of Administration

Ms. Ilse Geukens

Deputy Head of Administration

Ms. Cecile Fasulo

Human Resources

Ms. Erin Zielinski


Ms. Gaelle Duchemin

Infrastructure, Accommodations Manager

Mr. Anthony Le Diffard

Administrative Officer

Ms. Monica Lee Ambaum

Receptionist/Conference Officer

Ms. Sophie Schlenker

Receptionist/Conference Officer

Ms. Elisabeth “Ellen” den Otter

Receptionist/Conference Officer

Ms. Helene Kuoh

Temporary, Receptionist/Conference Officer

Mr. Andre Mendez


Mr. Carlos Rodriguez


Mr. Daniel Borlandelli


FaceBook Twitter