European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

Sudan: EU Presidency Declaration on First Round of Doha Talks on Darfur

Summary: 20 February 2009, Brussels – Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the first round of Doha talks on Darfur

The European Union welcomes the Agreement of Good Will and Confidence Building signed on 17 February 2009 in Doha, Qatar, between the Government of National Unity of Sudan and the Justice and Equality Movement.

In the Agreement the two parties have made a clear commitment to work towards a political settlement to the conflict in Darfur.

The European Union urges the parties to honour the important commitments made in Doha. Rapid agreement of a cessation of hostilities is an essential early step.

The outcome of this 1st Round of Doha Talks should lead to an inclusive political process.

The European Union calls on other movements to join the process without delay. Neither they nor civil society are to be excluded. The population of Darfur must be assured that their interests are fully considered in the search for a peaceful, durable settlement to the conflict.

The European Union highly appreciates the essential role of the African Union/United Nations Joint Chief Mediator, Djibrill Bassolé, and the Government of Qatar, in paving the way for this result. The European Union encourages their continued strong engagement.

With other partners in the international community, regional and non-regional, the European Union continues to be ready to support a peaceful development of Sudan.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL09-043EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 20/2/2009

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States