European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

EU Presidency Declaration on Somalia

Summary: 13 May 2008, Brussels – The EU welcomes the significant progress that has been made in the political process in Somalia since the beginning of the year. It reaffirms its full support to the transitional federal authorities for the action taken by the Transitional Federal Government and to the reconciliation strategy by Prime Minister Nur Hassan Hussein that has made it possible to start a dialogue with all Somali parties, internal as well as external, and to launch a true reconciliation process.

The EU welcomes the envisaged opening of discussions between the Transitional Federal Government and the Alliance for Reliberation of Somalia in Djibouti. These discussions will be a first necessary step towards the initiation of inter-Somali negotiations.

The EU welcomes the efforts made by the Transitional Federal Government aiming at reforming the security sector and ensuring the rule of law in Somalia.

The EU reiterates its support to the Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Somalia Ahmedou Ould Abdallah in his efforts to coordinate the action of the international community and to facilitate inter-Somali political dialogue.

The EU expresses its grave concern about the continuing deterioration of the humanitarian situation in Somalia and its willingness to support the efforts of the United Nations to provide urgent response to the crisis.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Azerbaijan and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL08-033EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 13/5/2008

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States