European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

EU Presidency Declaration on situation in Burundi

Summary: 27 November 2007, Brussels – The European Union welcomes the formation of a new Government of broad consensus in Burundi, as part of a dynamic, forward-looking process of dialogue and consultation.

This new political context opens up very encouraging prospects and the European Union hopes that it will help provide the stability and calm which those concerned require in order to focus on the numerous challenges that continue to mark the process of reconstructing the country and consolidating peace, and in particular transitional justice.

In that context, it calls upon the Government of Burundi to seize this new opportunity to establish once and for all the principles for the efficient and transparent management of State affairs. The European Union stands ready to support Burundi in this endeavour. It welcomes the recent agreement with the IMF.

The European Union hopes that with political calm restored, Burundi will be able, in particular, to make progress towards transitional justice. It welcomes the establishment of a tri-partite Steering Group charged with organising national consultations and hopes that it will be able to proceed with its work as efficiently as possible.

Finally, the European Union calls upon the Government of Burundi and the FNL to resume in a constructive manner the negotiation process for implementation of the agreements signed in 2006, and supports the major role taken by the Regional Initiative. It is essential that the FNL should return to its place in the joint verification and monitoring mechanism.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL07-280EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 27/11/2007

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States