European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

EU Presidency Declaration on the Comoros

Summary: 23 October 2007, New York – The EU has already voiced its concern on a number of occasions at the crisis threatening the unity of the Comoros. Today it wishes to give its full support to the decisions taken by the Peace and Security Council of the African Union at its meeting on 10 October 2007, in particular the measures adopted with respect to the illegal authorities of Anjouan.

The EU recalls its support for the preservation of the integrity and the unity of the Union of the Comoros, on the basis of the Fomboni (2001) and Moroni (2003) agreements. It again states the need for new elections to be organised on Anjouan, under the supervision of the AU, in accordance with the recommendations adopted at the meetings in Cape Town on 19 June and 18 September 2007.

The EU declares its readiness to consider what assistance it could give the AU for the purposes of implementing the decisions taken by the PSC on 10 October last.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL07-252EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 23/10/2007

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States