European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action
See photos from EU-related events and learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

Statement on Bosnia and Herzegovina by Contact Group Ministers

Summary: 27 September 2007, New York – The Contact Group has played a central role in efforts to achieve peace and stability in the Balkans for the past fifteen years. Since the signing of the Dayton Peace Accords in 1995, substantial progress has been achieved in Bosnia and Herzegovina to implement the terms of the agreement and on reforms necessary to ensure the stability and sustainability of the country.

Contact Group Ministers are concerned, however, that over the past 18 months, progress on Dayton Implementation and reform has come to a halt, and extremist rhetoric has been on the rise. Ministers urge Bosnia and Herzegovina’s leaders to put polemics aside and focus on the pressing issues that will promote a normal and improved quality of life for the country’s citizens, as well as progress toward the EU. Ministers expressed their full support for the High Representative Miroslav Lajcak and his efforts to fully support the Dayton Accords and to advance reforms, particularly police restructuring, which are essential for Bosnia and Herzegovina to move forward and build a better future for all citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The Contact Group reiterates its support for the Dayton Peace Accords and for the territorial integrity of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Ministers underscore that it is time for Bosnia and Herzegovina’s politicians to end the practice of questioning the fundamental structure of the state or its component parts. Changes to the governing structures of Bosnia and Herzegovina can only be made in accordance with established procedures in the constitution of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

  • Ref: CL07-215EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 27/9/2007

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States