European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

Côte d'Ivoire: EU Presidency Declaration on the formation of the new government

Summary: Côte d'Ivoire: EU Presidency Declaration on the formation of the new government (10 April 2007: Brussels)

The European Union takes note of the formation of the new government in Côte d'Ivoire on 7 April 2007 and welcomes its commitment to peace.

The European Union invites the new government and the President of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire to become involved resolutely in the implementation of the action advocated in the political agreement concluded in Ouagadougou on 4 March 2007 in order to relaunch the peace process defined by UN Security Council Resolution 1721.

With a view to finding a rapid solution to the crisis affecting the whole country, the European Union calls on the parties to move forward on the key issues, including: identification of the population, Defence and Security Forces issues, the DDR (disarmament, demobilisation and reintegration) programme and the organisation as early as possible of free, fair, open, democratic and transparent elections.

The European Union will continue to accompany Côte d'Ivoire on the road to consolidating peace and development.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL07-089EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 10/4/2007

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States