European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

EU Presidency Declaration on latest developments in Kyrgyzstan

Summary: EU Presidency Declaration on latest developments in Kyrgyzstan (17 November 2006: Brussels)

The European Union welcomes the signing of the new Kyrgyz constitution by President Kurmanbek Bakiev. This marks a significant step in the democratic development of Kyrgyzstan.

The EU is satisfied with the non-violent resolution of the tense political situation in Kyrgyzstan, achieved through negotiations and consultations between the authorities and various political forces, with all sides respecting the established legal order.

The EU hopes that the signing of the new constitution will lead to peaceful development in Kyrgyzstan, based on respect for human rights, democracy and the rule of law. The EU encourages political dialogue between all the relevant political forces in order to stabilize the situation.

The EU recalls that it welcomed the process of democratic renewal that started in Kyrgyzstan in March 2005. It reiterates its commitment to supporting the Kyrgyz government and people on the path of reform, including strengthening the rule of law and democratic institutions, the freedom of the press and the fight against corruption.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL06-226EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 17/11/2006

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States