European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

EU Presidency Declaration on situation in Thailand

Summary: EU Presidency Declaration on situation in Thailand (28 September 2006: Brussels)

Further to the EU Presidency statement of 20 September 2006, the European Union attaches great importance to Thailand's speedy return to democracy and constitutional order, legitimised by free and democratic elections to be held as soon as possible.

Martial law should, without delay, give way to the rule of ordinary law with full respect for human rights and civil liberties.

The European Union has noted with great attention the military leadership's assurances that Thailand will continue to abide by the United Nations Charter and international treaties and agreements. The decisions and actions of the new military-appointed government will be evaluated by the European Union in the light of Thailand's international obligations, inter alia in the area of human rights, including freedom of expression and freedom of assembly, as well as the military leadership's specific assurances to this respect as mentioned above.

The European Union emphasizes that it is for the people of Thailand as a whole to decide upon Thailand's future government.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL06-191EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 28/9/2006

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States