European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

Sao Tome and Principe: EU Presidency Declaration on elections

Summary: Sao Tome and Principe: EU Presidency Declaration on elections (4 August 2006: Brussels)

The European Union is pleased to note that the Presidential elections in Sao Tome and Principe on 30 July 2006 were considered by international observers as peaceful and generally well organised, allowing voters to exercise their rights according to international standards for free and fair elections.

The European Union congratulates the people of Sao Tome and Principe for the peaceful electoral process and for demonstrating their clear commitment to democracy. The EU commends the National Election Commission and all international observers for their contribution towards the orderly conduct of the elections.

The European Union welcomes the acceptance of the results by the candidates and encourages all political parties to continue to work together for the consolidation of sustainable democracy and progress in the country. The European Union will continue to support Sao Tome and Principe in these aims.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL06-151EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 4/8/2006

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States