European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

EU Presidency Statement on new Prime Minister in Côte d'Ivoire

Summary: EU Presidency Statement on new Prime Minister in Côte d'Ivoire (15 December 2005: Brussels)

The European Union notes with satisfaction the nomination of Mr. Charles Konan Banny to the post of Prime Minister of Côte d'Ivoire. The EU congratulates the African mediators on their efforts to arrive at this result. It now falls to the Prime Minister to carry out the tasks entrusted to him by the African Union, and by the United Nations Security Council in its Resolution 1633 of 21 October 2005.

The EU considers it necessary that the Prime Minister must, to this end, be able effectively to exercise the powers he has been granted by UN Security Council Resolution 1633 and confirmed by the International Working Group (IWG) and the Presidential Statement of the Security Council of 30 November 2005. The IWG and the day-to-day mediation group will ensure that the Prime Minister can act without obstacle during the transition in order to organise free and fair elections.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey and Croatia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia continues to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL05-332EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 15/12/2005

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States