European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action
See photos from EU-related events and learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

EU Presidency Declaration on elections in the Central African Republic

Summary: June 10, 2005: Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the elections in the Central African Republic (Brussels)

The European Union has taken note of the results published by the Independent Joint Electoral Commission (CEMI) on 24 May 2005.

In the light of the presidential and parliamentary elections held in the Central African Republic on 13 March and 8 May 2005, the EU congratulates the whole population, civil society and political parties for their desire to peacefully seek solutions to the country's problems.

The European Union remains concerned, however, by the various impediments in the vote counting procedures reported in a number of polling stations in Bangui and in certain provinces of the country. The EU calls upon the Central African authorities to any appeal to the Constitutional Court be dealt with in all impartiality.

The European Union invites all parties concerned in the Central African Republic and the newly elected President to cooperate in drawing up the essential reforms enabling the country to restore a climate of confidence and peace in the strict respect for human rights.

It is against this background that the European Union is determined to resume full and complete cooperation within the framework of the Cotonou Agreement. The European Union strongly hopes for the pursuit of a strengthened political dialogue with the Central African authorities in order to support the reestablishment of the rule of law and social and economic stabilisation in the Central African Republic.

The European Union will continue to follow closely the situation in the Central African Republic and the progress made in the implementation of the undertakings made by the Central African authorities, i.e. full application of the principles of rule of law, political pluralism, independence of the judicial system, and respect for human rights, good economic and public affairs governance.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey and Croatia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia continues to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

  • Ref: CL05-153EN
  • EU source: Council
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 10/6/2005

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States