European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

The New European Union of 25

Summary: May 6, 2003: EU Accession – 17th April 2003 (New York)

The New European Union of 25 – Ambassador’s Lunch. New York, 17th April 2003

H.E. Adamantios Vassilakis (Greece), H.E. Ms. L. Fréchette (UNDSG), H.E. Mr. Gerhard Pfanzelter (Austria), H.E. Mr. Jean de Ruyt (Belgium), Mr. Ole E. Moesby DPR, CdA (Denmark), Ambassador Mr. Jarmo Sareva DPR (Finland), Mr. Jean Luc Florent (France), Ambassador Mr. Hans Heinrich Schumacher (Germany), Ms. Philomena Murnaghan DPR, CdA (Ireland), H.E. Mr. Marcello Spatafora (Italy), H.E. Mr. Hubert Wurth (Luxembourg), H.E. Mr. Dirk Jan van den Berg (Netherlands), Mr. Rui Filipe Monteiro Belo Macieira (Portugal), Ambassador Ana Maria Menendez DPR (Spain), Ambassador Ms. Erikkson Fogh DPR, CdA (Sweden), Mr. Alistair Harrison (UK), Mr. George Cunningham (Commission), Mr. David J. Hollister DPO, CdA (Council), H.E. Mr. Sotirios Zackheos (Cyprus), H.E. Mr. Hynek Kmonicek (Czech), H.E. Mrs. Merle Pajula (Estonia), Mr. Istvan Posta CdA (Hungary), H.E. Mr. Gints Jegermanis (Latvia), H.E. Mr. Gediminas Serksnys (Lithuania), Mr. Hector Bonavia DPR, CdA (Malta), H.E. Mr. Janusz Stanczyk (Poland), Ambassador Klara Novotna CdA (Slovakia), H.E. Mr. Roman Kirn (Slovenia)

Photo Credit: Dimitrios Panagos

  • Ref: EC03-110EN
  • EU source: European Commission
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 6/5/2003

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States