European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

Statement by EU HR Ashton after her phone conversation with Abd Rabbuh Mansur al-Hadi of Yemen

Summary: 22 December 2011, Brussels - Catherine Ashton, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the Commission made today the following statement after her phone conversation with Abd Rabbuh Mansur al-Hadi of Yemen:

"Today I called Vice President Abd Rabbuh Mansur al-Hadi of Yemen, to underline my firm support for his efforts to lead the way in taking forward Yemen’s political transition on the basis of the Gulf Cooperation Council initiative.

I confirmed the EU’s continued support to Yemen and to a Yemeni-led, inclusive and democratic transition process on the basis of a sustainable national consensus. I assured the Vice President that we will stand by him in his efforts towards a better future based on democracy, justice and human rights.

I also underlined the EU’s view that to succeed, the transition process must be inclusive: we discussed how best to reach out to the large numbers of unemployed young people, the youth movements and other groups.

Finally, I stressed that we remain ready to continue working with the government of Yemen and the international community to help rebuild the economy."



  • Ref: EU11-411EN
  • EU source: European Union
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 22/12/2011

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States