European Union @ United Nations, Partnership in Action

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

EU in NY

Learn more about academic programs and think-tank events, arts festivals and cultural activities.

European External Action ServiceEuropean Comission

< Back to previous page

Statement by EU HR Ashton on Ivory Coast

Summary: 12 March 2011, Brussels - Catherine Ashton, High Representative for External Affairs and Security Politics of the European Union and Vice-President of the European Commission made the following statement today on Ivory Coast:

“I welcome the decision taken by the African Union's Peace and Security Council to adopt the conclusions of the Panel of Heads of State on the crisis in Ivory Coast. This decision is one more proof of the key role of the African Union and ECOWAS as guardians of peace and democracy in Africa.

I commend the members of the Panel of Heads of State for their thorough work seeking a solution that both safeguards democracy and achieves a peaceful resolution of the crisis, notably through the creation of a Government of National Unity under the authority of President Alassane Ouattara and the other proposed measures to facilitate peace, national reconciliation and reunification. I also commend the Presidents of the AU and ECOWAS Commissions for their determination and tireless efforts.

I call on all Ivoirian parties to implement the AU's decision, which has my full support. The EU stands ready to support the process of national reconstruction and reconciliation, as soon as circumstances on the ground allow.”

  • Ref: EU11-096EN
  • EU source: European Union
  • UN forum: 
  • Date: 12/3/2011

< Back to previous page

See also

European Union Member States