Select Page

EU at the UN

The EU's commitment to effective multilateralism, with the UN at its core, is a central element of its external action. As a UN observer with enhanced status, the EU delegation coordinates with its 28 Member States to speak with one voice. The EU also works closely with the UN secretariat and its agencies, funds & programmes, partnering on a range of global issues and challenges.

Writing on Twitter this morning, Commissioner Vassiliou commented: “It gave me great pleasure to hand over the best European Film Award to the Great Beauty by Sorrentino last December. Now I am thrilled that it received the Oscar as well for the best foreign film. Fantastico!”.

La Grande Bellezza, which premiered at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival, is an Italian (Medusa Film, Indigo Film) and French (Babe Film) co-production. As well as winning four prizes at the European Film Awards in Berlin last December (best film, director, actor, editor), it has also won the best foreign film category at the Golden Globes and the British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs).

European film-makers had a good night at the Oscars. The Best Picture award went to 12 Years a Slave by British director Steve McQueen, while space drama Gravity, filmed at the Pinewood and Shepperton Studios near London, won seven Oscars, including direction (Alfonso Cuarón) and technical awards for cinematography, film editing, visual effects, sound editing, sound mixing and score.

Mr Hublot by French directors Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares, won the Oscar for Animated Short. The animation features a character created by the Belgian sculptor Stéphane Halleu.

Background: MEDIA-backed films nominated for the 86th Academy Awards

Best Picture:

Philomena by Stephen Frears (United Kingdom, France, USA)

Awarded €402 000 from MEDIA distribution

Best Foreign Language Film:

La Grande Bellezza (The Great Beauty) by Paolo Sorrentino (Italy, France)

Awarded €314 000 from MEDIA development and distribution

Jagten (The Hunt) by Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark)

Awarded €662 000 from MEDIA development, i2i and distribution

L’Image manquante (The Missing Picture) by Rithy Panh (Cambodia, France)

Awarded €54 000 from MEDIA distribution

The Broken Circle Breakdown by Felix Van Groeningen (Belgium)

Awarded €388 000 from MEDIA distribution

Best Animated Feature Film:

Ernest and Celestine by Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar, Benjamin Renner (France, Belgium)

Awarded €184 000 from MEDIA development and distribution

Best Documentary Feature:

The Act of Killing by Joshua Oppenheimer (Denmark, Norway, United Kingdom)

Awarded €172 000 from MEDIA distribution

Best Actress:

Judi Dench for Philomena

Costume Design:

Michael O’Connor for the Invisible Woman

For more information

European Commission: Creative Europe

Androulla Vassiliou’s website

Follow Androulla Vassiliou on Twitter @VassiliouEU

FaceBook Twitter